

Minutes of the AGM held July 15th 2021 Held Via Zoom and North Cave Village Hall

The meeting opened at 19:00

- 1. Scott Millard, District Chair, opened the meeting and welcomed all those present and thanked them for taking the time to dial in and explained how guestions can be asked.
- 2. Recorded apologies for absence were received from Christian Carver, Andy Eavis, Shaun Wilson, Helen Wilson, Joy Milestone, Gary McGue and Chris Whiteley
- 3. The minutes of 2nd July 2020 Annual General Meeting were read; and approved as a correct record.

Proposed: Paul Daniels Seconded: Pam Bell

4. The Blacktoft Beacon District Scout Council Annual Accounts for period ending 31st march 2021, , were reviewed, and approved. The Chair thanked John Jobling, Treasurer, for his continued support and "due diligence" in preparing a very informative & "full" set of accounts.

Proposed: Steve Horwarth Seconded: Scott Millard

- 5. Scott Millard was nominated by Linda Thelwell as Chair for the coming year. This was unanimously agreed by all members present. Linda also confirmed a further 2 Ex Officio members, Shaun Wilson as District Explorer Scout Commissioner and Rory Kershaw as District Youth Commissioner. The role of District Scout Network Leader remains vacant.
- 6. Jayne Bell was Elected by Scott Millard as District Secretary, Seconded by Wendy Macadam.
- 7. John Jobling was proposed by Linda Thelwell as District Treasurer. Seconded, by Scott Millard.
- 8. The following members were approved as nominees to the District Executive Committee. Rachael Macadam, Deputy District Commissioner, Paul Daniels, Assistant Group Scout Leader Hessle, Neil Begbie, Group Scout Leader Goole, Lucy Carne, District Explorer Leader and Liz Fraser, Group Scout Leader Ferriby and Swanland.

... 2 of 3

9. The following members were Elected, un-opposed, to serve on the District Executive Committee for the coming year, no vote was required as the correct number of members were elected, there are no new members for the forthcoming year. Jo Cook, Scout Active Support, Pam Bell, GSL Hook, Barbara Simpson, District Badge Secretary, Wendy Macadam, District LTM and Beaver Leader and Colin Fitch, Chair of the District Appointment Advisory Committee.

The following members were Co-opted to serve on the District Executive Committee for the coming year. Chris Whiteley and Steve Howarth, Tablers Wood, Joy Milestone, District Appointments Secretary, Frank Cook, Scout Active Support and Michelle Nobbs, AGSL Ferriby Swanland Proposed: Scott Millard Seconded: Neil Begbie

10. The District Commissioner proposed Rachael Macadam as the District representative to the County Executive Committee.

Proposed: Scott Millard Seconded: Pam Bell

- 11. It was proposed that Alistair Connell be appointed for a further term as District Auditor, John Jobling confirmed that Alistair Connell would be more than happy to be our auditor for another year. Proposed: Scott Millard. Seconded: Frank Cook
- 12. The District Commissioner, Linda Thelwell, went on to say; Since our 2020 AGM we have all experienced something I certainly never had on my 'radar' the pandemic named COVID-19.

It is testament to the District that we have managed to keep local Scouting afloat and vibrant whilst also managing the challenges within our own families. My thanks go to our fantastic team of leaders, adult helpers, exec members and our youth members, for sticking with their Scouting, I can say from my heart that this has made a difference to all our lives.

Georges Day saw us hold activities virtually with an opening and closing ceremony also via 'Zoom'. We acknowledged all young people who had completed top awards during lock down and I still hope we will be able to hold a top award ceremony possibly at the end of this year or beginning of next.

We recognised 55 adults and 2 Explorer Young Leaders by awarding the DC Commendation Award, for 'Going that extra mile' to support local Scouting during the Covid-19 pandemic. A role of honour is recorded on Blacktoft Beacons Website pages.

During the year I have posted Wood badges and service awards to GSLs and ask they present in any way they have been able so again a huge congratulation to all recipients.

Linda then went on to present the following awards and congratulated the recipients for all there vears service:

Chief Scout's 30 Year Service Award - Barbara Simpson

Chief Scout's 40 Year Service Award - Jo Cook

Chief Scout's 50 Year Service Award (x2) - Audrey Harris & Steve Howarth

Linda then went on to give her personal thanks to Rachael Macadam who, as always, has been a huge support and always steps up to deputise when needed.

... 3 of 3

13. Scott closed the meeting by giving a massive thanks to Linda, Rachael and the rest of the team along with all of our members and leaders for all their hard work and efforts during the last year and hoped that we would soon see the light at the end of the tunnel. The meeting closed at 19:30.
